Dating Rule #1: You Must Be Social

The day after I broke up with my boyfriend of almost six years, I went online and vented my situation to all my friends (because that’s the best way to deal with a break up OF COURSE).

When I told my friend Ray over gchat (because I was crying too hard to talk to anyone on the phone), the first thing he said to me was, “Get on Match.com!!”

Perhaps it’s not the best advice, but it’s not the worst either (he was half-joking). However, after being mostly single for the past three years since that break up (yes, dating in my 30’s has been quite challenging to put it lightly), I have to say that the #1 rule about trying to date again is to be social. Go to as many social gatherings as you can. Take dance classes. Join a club. Go to farmers markets. Go out dancing at bars. Make sure to go out when you get invited to do things with friends. Online dating counts too. Just get the fuck out there. The chances of you meeting someone is much greater if you put yourself in new social situations instead of just holing yourself up in your apartment all day long. You just never know what’s going to happen…

Leave a Reply

